MINUTES

MONROE COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

CALLED SESSION

JANUARY 10, 2012

BE IT REMEMBERED, that the Board of Commissioners for Monroe County, Tennessee, was begun and held at the Courthouse in Madisonville, Tennessee, in Called Session, January 10, 2012 at 7:00 P.M. Present and presiding was Wanda Alexander, Chairperson, and the following Commissioners were present and answered roll call.

FIRST DISTRICT

Wanda Alexander Marty Allen

SECOND DISTRICT

Bill Bivins Richard Kirkland Judy Lee

THIRD DISTRICT

Harold Hawkins Bill Shadden Roger Thomas

ALSO PRESENT, were Mayor Tim Yates, County Clerk, Larry C. Sloan, Finance Director, Elizabeth Hicks, County Attorney, Jerome Melson and Election Administrator, James Brown.

Absent was 1st District Commissioner Moser.

The Board of Commissioners was officially opened by Corrections Officer Steve Miller.

The invocation was given by the Chairperson.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was led by the Chairperson.

110-1 DISCUSSION: FOR THE PURPOSE OF REDISTRICTING SCHOOL BOARD ISSUES-NO ACTION TAKEN

From Jerome: Here are my thoughts.
The CLB will need to amend their private act to do the following:
District 1
(1) Eliminate one of the school board positions.(2) There will be no seats up for election in 2012.
<u>District 2</u>
(1) Eliminate one of the positions by the private act or by redistricting.(2) There will be one seat up for election in 2012.
District 3
(1) Eliminate one of the positions by the private act or by redistricting.(2) There will be one seat up for election in 2012.
<u>District 4</u>
(1) There will be two positions up for election in 2012.(2) Also, these positions will have 4 year terms. This will give 4 members with terms expiring in 2014 and 4 terms expiring in 2016.
After several minutes of discussion it was agreed by the Commission to go ahead with 4 School Districts, 2 Board members from each district. A resolution will be drawn and presented in the January 24, 2012 regular meeting of the County Commission.
<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>
The meeting was adjourned.
TIM YATES, Mayor
ATTEST

LARRY C. SLOAN, Clerk