MINUTES

MONROE COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

SPECIAL CALLED SESSION

NOVEMBER 7, 2011

BE IT REMEMBERED, that the Board of Commissioners for Monroe County, Tennessee, was begun and held at the Courthouse in Madisonville, Tennessee, in Special Called Session, November 7, 2011 at 7:00 P.M. Present and presiding was Wanda Alexander, Chairperson, and the following Commissioners were present and answered roll call.

FIRST DISTRICT

SECOND DISTRICT

Wanda Alexander Marty Allen Bennie Moser Bill Bivins Richard Kirkland Judy Lee THIRD DISTRICT

Harold Hawkins Bill Shadden Roger Thomas

ALSO PRESENT, were Mayor Tim Yates, County Clerk, Larry C. Sloan, Finance Director, Elizabeth Hicks, County Attorney, Jerome Melson and Election Administrator, James Brown.

The Board of Commissioners was officially opened by Captain Mike Bledsoe.

The invocation was given by the Chairperson.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was led by the Chairperson.

<u>1107 RESOLUTION: TO ADOPT A REAPPORTIONMENT/REDISTRICTING PLAN FOR</u> <u>MONROE COUNTY:</u>

<u>4 DISTRICTS & 12 COMMISSIONERS</u>-FAILED FOR LACK OF A MOTION

<u>4 DISTRICTS & 11 COMMISSIONERS-FAILED</u> It was moved by Commissioner BIVINS, seconded by Commissioner MOSER that is resolution be approved as presented. Motion failed on roll call. Aye 4 – Commissioners ALLEN, BIVINS, KIRKLAND and MOSER Nay – 5 Commissioners ALEXANDER, HAWKINS, LEE, SHADDEN, and THOMAS.

4 DISTRICTS & 10 COMMISSIONERS-APPROVED

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 5-1-111, requires that, at least every ten (10) years, county legislative bodies shall change boundaries of districts or redistrict a county entirely if necessary to apportion the county legislative body so that the members represent substantially equal populations; and

WHEREAS, Monroe County has prepared a plan consistent with the provisions of Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 5-1-111, which provides for county legislative body composed of 10 members and which creates four (4) districts as depicted on the official redistricting map for Monroe County prepared pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 5-1-110.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Monroe County Legislative Body meeting in special called session at Madisonville, Tennessee, on this 7th day of November, 2011, that:

SECTION 1. There is hereby adopted a reapportionment plan for Monroe County which provides for three (3) commissioner(s) in District 1, three (3) commissioner(s) in District 2, three (3) commissioner(s) in District, 3 and one (1) commissioner in District 4, for a total county legislative body of ten (10) members. The districts for members of the county legislative body are depicted on the official redistricting map for Monroe County prepared pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 5-1-110. A copy of the redistricting map is attached as <u>Exhibit A</u> to this resolution and is incorporated herein by reference.

SECTION 2. All members of the county legislative body shall be elected at large within the district wherein the candidate seeks election. For Districts 1, 2, and 3, the three (3) candidates receiving the greatest number of votes in each district shall be elected. With respect to District

4, the candidate receiving the greatest number of votes shall be elected to represent said District.

SECTION 3. The present members shall serve the remainder of the term for which they were elected.

SECTION 4. This plan shall take effect upon passage, the public welfare requiring it, provided that vacancies shall be filed in accordance with Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 5-1-104.

ADOPTED THE 7th day of November, 2011.

It was moved by Commissioner ALLEN, seconded by Commissioner THOMAS, that this resolution be approved as presented. Motion carried on roll call Aye -8 Nay -1 Commissioner KIRKLAND.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned.

TIM YATES, MAYOR

ATTEST:

LARRY C. SLOAN, CLERK