MINUTES

MONROE COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

CALLED SESSION

DECEMBER 15, 2011

BE IT REMEMBERED, that the Board of Commissioners for Monroe County, Tennessee, was begun and held at the Courthouse in Madisonville, Tennessee, in Called Session, December 15, 2011 at 4:00 P.M. Present and presiding was Wanda Alexander, Chairperson, and the following Commissioners were present and answered roll call.

FIRST DISTRICT

Wanda Alexander Marty Allen Bennie Moser

SECOND DISTRICT

Bill Bivins Richard Kirkland Judy Lee

THIRD DISTRICT

Harold Hawkins Bill Shadden Roger Thomas

ALSO PRESENT, were Mayor Tim Yates, County Clerk, Larry C. Sloan, Finance Director, Elizabeth Hicks, County Attorney, Jerome Melson and Election Administrator, James Brown.

The Board of Commissioners was officially opened by Sheriff Bivens.

The invocation was given by the Mayor.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was led by the Chairperson.

1215-1 RESOLUTION: TO ADOPT A DEBT MANAGEMENT POLICY FOR MONROE COUNTY-APPROVED

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 9-21-151(b)(1), authorizes the State Funding Board to develop model financial transaction policies for local government and local government instrumentalities;

WHEREAS, the State Funding Board has adopted a statement on debt management and directed local government entities that borrow money to draft their own debt management policies with certain mandatory provisions; and

WHEREAS, the Monroe County Legislative Body has prepared a debt management policy that includes the mandatory provisions relative to transparency, professionals and conflicts.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Monroe County Legislative Body meeting in called session at Madisonville, Tennessee, on this 15th day of December, 2011, that;

SECTION 1. The debt management policy attached as Exhibit A to this resolution, incorporated herein by reference, is hereby adopted.

SECTION 2. This resolution shall take effect upon passage, the public welfare requiring it.

ADOPTED, this 15th day of December, 2011.

It was moved by Commissioner MOSER, seconded by Commissioner THOMAS, that this resolution be approved as presented. Motion carried on roll call. Aye 9 Nay 0

DISCUSSION: REAPPORTIONMENT COMMITTEE- SCHOOL DISTRICTS-APPROVED

A recommendation from Mayor Tim Yates representing the Reapportionment Committee to have Four (4) School Districts, with each district having two (2) school board members was presented to the commission.

It was moved by Commissioner LEE, seconded by Commissioner KIRKLAND, to approve this recommendation. Motion carried on roll call. Aye 9 Nay 0

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>		
The meeting was adjourned.		
ATTEST:	TIM YATES, MAYOR	
LARRY C. SLOAN, CLERK	-	