MINUTES

MONROE COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

CALLED SESSION

JANUARY 31, 2012

BE IT REMEMBERED, that the Board of Commissioners for Monroe County, Tennessee, was begun and held at the Courthouse in Madisonville, Tennessee, in Called Session, January 31, 2012 at 7:00 P.M. Present and presiding was Wanda Alexander, Chairperson, and the following Commissioners were present and answered roll call.

FIRST DISTRICT

Wanda Alexander Marty Allen

SECOND DISTRICT

Bill Bivins Richard Kirkland Judy Lee

THIRD DISTRICT

Harold Hawkins Bill Shadden Roger Thomas

ALSO PRESENT, were Mayor Tim Yates, County Clerk, Larry C. Sloan, County Attorney Jerome Melson, Finance Director, Elizabeth Hicks & Election Administrator James Brown.

Absent was 1st District Commissioner Moser.

The Board of Commissioners was officially opened by the Sheriff.

The invocation was given by Mayor Yates.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was led by the Chairperson.

RESOLUTION NO. 131-1

TO ADOPT A REDISTRICTING PLAN FOR THE MONROE COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD-APPROVED

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-2-201(a)(1), requires that, at least every ten (10) years, county legislative bodies shall change the boundaries of school districts or redistrict the school boundaries entirely if necessary to apportion the school board districts so that the members represent substantially equal populations; and

WHEREAS, Monroe County has approved a plan consistent with the provisions of *Tennessee Code Annotated*, Section 49-2-201, which provides for a school board body composed of eight (8) members and which creates four (4) districts as depicted on the official redistricting map for Monroe County School Board prepared pursuant to *Tennessee Code Annotated*, Section 49-2-201;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Monroe County Legislative Body meeting in session at Madisonville, Tennessee, on this 24th day of January, 2012, that:

SECTION 1. There is hereby adopted a reapportionment plan for the Monroe County School Board which provides for four (4) Districts, with two (2) members in each of the Districts, for a total school board membership body of eight (8) members. The districts for members of the school board are depicted on the official redistricting map for the Monroe County School Board prepared pursuant to *Tennessee Code Annotated*, Section 49-2-201. A copy of the redistricting map is attached as **EXHIBIT A** to this resolution and is incorporated herein by reference.

SECTION 2. All members of the school board shall be elected within the district wherein the candidate seeks election. The candidate or candidates, depending on the number of open seats in the district, receiving the greatest number of votes in each district shall be elected.

SECTION 3. The present members shall serve the remainder of the term for which they were elected.

SECTION 4. This plan shall take effect upon passage, the public welfare requiring it, provided any election to fill a vacancy shall be conducted in accordance with *Tennessee Code Annotated*, Section 5-1-104. The county legislative body shall take the necessary steps to cause the private act governing the board of education to be amended to provide for the new school districts as set forth in this resolution, as well as any other changes which are necessary to effectuate this resolution, in sufficient time to make the changes effective for the August 2012 general election.

ADOPTED this 31st day of January, 2012.

It was moved by Commissioner ALLEN, seconded by Commissioner KIRKLAND, that this resolution be approved as presented. Motion carried. Aye 5-Commissioners Alexander, Allen, Bivins, Kirkland & Lee; Nay 3-Commissioners Hawkins, Shadden & Thomas
<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>
The meeting was adjourned.
TIM YATES, Mayor
ATTEST

LARRY C. SLOAN, Clerk